Rutland Welcomes You

This website has been developed by Rutland County Council working with town and parish councils, and local businesses.

It’s part of the ‘Open for Business’ campaign to welcome residents and visitors back to Rutland’s towns following the Covid-19 lockdown.

It’s aim is to support the safe reopening of Rutland’s high streets, providing information on what changes to expect, along with details of each business’ opening hours and the measures they are putting in place to ensure safe shopping.

We hope it offers useful information for local people and visitors, as well as supporting our hard-working local businesses.

Cllr Lucy Stephenson is Rutland County Council’s cabinet member with responsibility for Culture and Leisure, Highways, Transportation & Road Safety. She explains: “We’re delighted to be in a position to reopen our high streets and welcome shoppers back. Lockdown has been very challenging but with the Council, residents and local businesses pulling together, we’ve been able to reach this milestone.

“Things will be a little different at first, with some temporary measures in place to ensure safe shopping for all parties. It’s vital we all do our bit to follow the rules, protect ourselves and each other.

“Local businesses and retail staff have been vital for so many of us over the last few months, keeping us stocked with essentials and keeping our spirits up. This is an opportunity to keep supporting them as we continue to ease out of lockdown. It’s time to restart Rutland’s economy.

“We’ll be monitoring the situation closely and if safety guidelines aren’t being followed, we’ll step in and take action.”

The ‘Open for Business’ campaign has been funded through the Government’s Reopening High Streets Safely Fund. There are stringent rules on how the funding must be spent and the overall aim is to establish a safe trading environment for businesses and customers. The funding is part of the European Regional Development Fund which aims to strengthen economic and social cohesion in the European Union